10-day Itinerary – Southwest Japan Tour

2019 – I remember when I was really stressed out from the endless cycle of my 9-5 work and I needed an outlet (to relieve the stress).

April was approaching – which meant Golden Week in Japan is finally coming closer. I figured I should make a travel plan ahead since traveling has been one of my favorite “healing” activity. I love to explore around Japan!

I’m the type of person to plan travel itineraries so that my trip will be maximized as I don’t want to waste time and budget. Some people may decide to go with the flow, but hey, you know, to each his own!

Last year’s Golden Week is a special one because of the beginning of a new era in Japan. Instead of April 30, May 1 and 2 being a normal working day, these said dates have been declared holiday as a special commemoration of the coronation of the new Emperor, which makes it a 10-day holiday for the majority of the companies here in Japan.

Because we only got to have this consecutive 10-day holiday once in a blue moon, I asked myself where will I spend my vacation locally, at its fullest. It’s a battle between east/north and west/south of Japan.

But since the west/south looks promising – from local attractions to museums to local cuisines, I decided to explore from west to south.

My first stop was Osaka but I only slept there for a night. After getting off from work, I hopped on a night bus from Nagoya to Osaka and that really saved me a lot of time in my journey!

From Osaka I headed to Himeji.

himeji castle as seen in the observatory deck of himeji station
Himeji Castle blending in with the modern buildings, as seen from the Himeji Station Observation Deck.

Himeji Station is one of a kind attraction. From the observation deck, you can see the Himeji Castle from afar. It’s a feat to view the contrasting modern and traditional structures in one frame!

himeji castle, beautiful castle in japan
Himeji Castle

Himeji’s famous tourist spot is none other than the Himeji Castle, which I recommend to visit in spring. It’s white exterior blends in magnificently with the cherry blossoms and that is not to be missed!

stupa in nagoyama reien busharito
Fancy exterior with the stupa in Nagoyama Reien Busharito

The last stop I went to while in Himeji is the secluded Nagoyama Reien Busharito / Nagoya Cemetery. Now you might be thinking why would a tourist stop by at a cemetery during his/her travel? While it is unusual and almost impossible for a tourist to end up at a cemetery, you might want to check out Nagoyama Reien Busharito to witness the calm and serene Buddhist hill. This place has sparked curiosity because of the stupa and the elegant fountain similar to that of the entrance of a manor.

The next stop in my itinerary is Naoshima.

yayoi kusama yellow pumpkin in naoshima island
Yayoi Kusama’s Yellow Pumpkin

Naoshima is an island full of modern art. It is one of the open air museums in Seto Inland Sea and it is part of Setouchi Triennale. Setouchi Triennale is a seasonal event where they allow visitors to check their indoor artworks and let them experience workshops and events by various artists.

Naoshima showcases famous artist Yayoi Kusama’s Red Pumpkin, the Benesse art Museum, Naoshima bath house, Naoshima Pavillon, and Art House project “Haisha”. Every corner of the island screams art which makes it a worthwhile visit.

After Naoshima, I headed to Shodoshima.

angel island in shodoshima, people walking across the sandbar
Tourists passing through the sand bar on Angel Island

The reason I visited Shodoshima is to see Angel Island. This neighboring island of Naoshima is also a part of the Seto Inland Sea and Setouchi Triennale. Angel Island allows you to experience walking along the sandbar, climbing up the stone stairs and be amazed with the overlooking view of Shodoshima and the islands nearby.

Shodoshima might be my most unforgettable stop as I struggled to find shelter during the rain and I was freezing while waiting for the bus. I was about to ride the bus home but the line was located out in the open, no sheds, no roofs. The line was too long as everybody wanted to go home already, and buses are limited. However I managed to survive the rain and caught up the last bus heading to the port and safely traveled to the next location.

You might already heard about the rabbit island in Japan.

two cute rabbits in rabbit island in japan or also called okunoshima
Two of the most beautiful rabbits I found in Okunoshima.

Okunoshima is the haven for rabbits and rabbit lovers. Cute little creatures are everywhere! You can feed these cute animals with rabbit food prepared from the departure port. But did you know the dark history of this small island? The island was intentionally being kept secret as it was the base for chemical weapons research during World War II. Upon visiting, traces of the past is still visible. In the present, it has turned into a place where people visit to be “blessed” with fertility.

After being completely healed by the cuteness of the countless rabbit around Okunoshima, I went to Hiroshima, another place with a dark history.

A-bomb dome, atomic dome in hiroshima in its skeletal form
Skeletal ruin of A-bomb dome after withstanding the mushroom cloud.

We all know about the atomic bomb dome that barely survived the catastrophe. While it is miserable enough in the photos in the internet, it definitely gives a different feeling seeing the dome in real life. Not far from the atomic bomb dome is the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum. I cannot forget the eeriness I felt all the way throughout the museum. Seeing the victims’ photos, their life before the nuclear drop, their life after surviving the bomb and the side effects of being exposed to radioactive elements. Aside from photos, the preserved personal belongings acquired after the nuclear bomb are also displayed, making you feel like you’re with them during those gloomy times.

With the Hiroshima visit, one shouldn’t miss the Miyajima in their itinerary.

itsukushima shrine in miyajima during high tide with a boat sailing across it
Miyajima boat passing under the torii gate during high tide.

Who doesn’t love seeing the famous torii gate standing in the middle of the sea? Itsukushima shrine’s floating torii gate doesn’t disappoint my visit in Miyajima. I thought that taking a picture of the torii gate floating above the sea is enough but what’s more fulfilling with the torii gate is that during low tide, you can walk and pass under the torii gate and see it upclose! Aside from the Torii gate and Itsukushima shrine, you should check out Omotesando Street and Mt. Misen to make your visit worthwhile!

Going further south of Japan, I visited Kitakyushu’s Wisteria garden and Uminonakamichi seaside park.

kawachi wisteria garden in kitakyushu
Curtains of purple, pink and white gracefully hanging in the wisteria garden.

Aside from Cherry blossom, another thing to look forward in spring is the Wisteria. When pink trees disappear, the color purple takes over, -looking lovely as dozens of wisteria trees lined up, gently swaying its flowers with the wind. The perfect spot to experience Wisteria in Kyushu is Kawachi Wisteria Garden. Albeit a private garden, it opens publicly during wisteria season and hundreds would flock especially during Golden Week.

flowers in uminonakamichi seaside park, things to see in uminonakamichi
Probably my most favorite among the countless flowers in Uminonakamichi Seaside Park.

Can’t miss out the good stuff in Kyushu, that’s why I visited Uminonakamichi seaside park to appreciate more flora and fauna. I spent a wonderful time in this vast park that has wide array of attractions – swimming pool, petting zoo, camping ground and a variety of flower fields.

The last stop of this travel galore is Fukuoka City.

I’m quite shocked with myself because I haven’t gotten exhausted with all of the traveling I did the past few days. With Fukuoka City being the final leg of my trip, I pranced my way in all of the itineraries with gusto and made sure I checked everything on my list before going home.

tenjin park in fukuoka, places to see in fukuoka, gracced terraced building in japan
Festival stands lining up around Tenjin Park. Seemed like they are having a festival the day I was in Fukuoka.

Early in the morning, I decided to visit the Tenjin Central Park first. This spacious park is the perfect place for picnic and relaxation. Across the vast greenfield is ACROS Fukuoka – an impressive garden terraced structure.

Aside from the Tenjin Central Park, another recreational place you might consider in Fukuoka is the Ohori Koen Park. Compared to the previous park, Ohori Koen Park is comprised of ponds and islands which you will surely love! An array of activities you might like are jogging, cycling, riding water striders, swan boats or row boats, immersing in traditional arts in the Noh Theater, and appreciating the beauty of the Japanese Garden.

After frolicking through the Ohori Park, my next destination is the Fukuoka Tower.

fukuoka tower in fukuoka city with observatory overlooking the ocean
Fukuoka Tower

The tower has an observation deck which lets you view both the sky and the sea, a compelling encounter through the “gateway of Asia”. At the front of the building were rows of shops lined up, with crowds of people passing by, eating, and watching some performances. I passed by the crowd and never thought I could wind up on a seaside! The seaside area is bustling with people who love to enjoy the waterfront scenery and do water sports activities. There are various shops and restaurants nearby and surprisingly, a wedding hall at the edge of the shore.

I never knew I enjoyed so much strolling around Fukuoka.

canal city, fukuoka canal city, places to visit in fukuoka, harry potter shop
Canal City

There’s this intruiging “Canal City” that I couldn’t wait to visit. Unlike other malls, the name of this mall in Fukuoka is unconventional. The reason behind the mall’s name is the artificial canal built within the building. Aside from the canal to look forward to in Canal City, the mall is packed with lots of things to do – from various events and shows, unique trinket shops, pop-up stores, cinemas, sophisticated boutiques, clearly, boredom isn’t an option in this place!

Squeezing every place in the itinerary is one challenging task. But I feel fulfilled after doing this travel marathon. If you’re around the area or planning to travel somewhere in the West and South of Japan, I greatly recommend these places!


Leave a comment